What I Learned in Professional Writing Class Is…

Image result for writing

“One great way to grow not only your confidence but also your skill is to continually learn more about writing.” – Ali Luke

This semester I took a class about Professional Writing, it has given me the opportunity to gain a lot of knowledge about different aspects of life and myself. Much of what I’ve learned is about how the world works and how to get across to people through my writing. I learned how to use a blog, how to utilize LinkedIn and how to use Twitter.

I never thought I’d be the type of person to make and use Twitter even for a second. Mostly because I don’t really voice my opinion in my own words very often. I also don’t see the point of updating my status every time I do something. I mean, I do see the appeal of staying updated with people, mostly important people like celebrities, politicians, etc. But the idea of actually using it consistently never really appealed to me, so I never made one until this class. I was shown the benefits of Live Tweeting and how it can help not only in a work environment but also in a school setting. It never occurred to me that Twitter could be used in ways to help further someone’s education.

I also got to experience what it was like to be involved in an online community, even if it was only for a few hours. It made me realize that there are people who are willing to help others and that genuinely care about others. Since I’m not really the type to willingly start talking to other people this assignment was a pretty new experience for me. I was mostly afraid that no one would respond to my messages and I would have to find another community to try.

In the beginning of the class, I had a lot of anxiety over the fact that a lot of the assignments were things that I had never done before and were things that involved me talking about what I thought or reaching out to other people. I mostly keep my thoughts to myself, so having to actually put my thoughts into words for others to read and comment on made me pretty anxious. I soon came to realize that nothing bad was going to happen when I did voice my opinions. It also made me realize that when I reach out to people there are some who won’t be as helpful as others and that that’s just a part of life.

For a few years, I haven’t had much confidence in myself, or in my writing. I especially did not have enough confidence to start writing a blog or make articles for a website. Which was part of the reasons at the beginning of the class I was a little uncomfortable and uneasy. The thought of me being shoved out of my comfort zone was terrifying to me, but the more I was forced out of my comfort zone the easier things became. This class has helped me gain some confidence in myself and my writing, which I thought I would never be able to get back. In the future, I may be more willing to let people read more of my personal writings or let them be published.

Photo Credit: The Odyssey Online

Leave a Reply

