Local Foods

Image result for rick's smokehouse

When it came to picking one of the topics that I will be writing about for the website my class and I will be developing, I wanted to write about something that I am pretty passionate about. When it comes to writing for me and probably for most other writers, it’s easier to write about things that they are passionate about.

So, one of my ideas to write about is the local restaurants in Terre Haute. Terre Haute has its fair share of restaurants in town, and most people are well aware of all of the chain restaurants. The sad thing is, most people in the area who are new don’t really have any idea of how good or how many local restaurants there are.

I am very passionate about food, I love the idea of cooking, I’ve even debated taking cooking classes to learn more myself. What I love about Terre Haute the most, is the different varieties of local restaurants that are available. There is no way you can’t find a local restaurant that you like in Terre Haute.

I also love the idea of supporting local businesses. Not only does it help out the businesses owners that are in the area but it can also expand someone’s views on Terre Haute. It can also help new people in the area to get acquainted with the area a little better but also get to know people in the area.

“You not only keep your money local, you also foster relationships with other business people in your neighborhood.” – Lorri Mealey

I’m hoping by me doing this article or series, that there will be much more recognition towards the hard work local business owners do to make their community a better place. I want readers to realize that there is so much more to Terre Haute than just chain restaurants. That there are people out there who want to help build the community and want people to try their food and love it too.

Photo credit: Great Deals Magazine

4 thoughts on “Local Foods

  1. This sounds great! I can’t wait to see what you have to say about these local restaurants, and I’ll certainly be giving your recommendations a try! I find that, oftentimes, these local restaurants go above and beyond preparing good food. They also create a good atmosphere of family, friends, and the larger community.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m really excited you are writing about the local restaurants in Terre Haute. Like you said, there are a lot of chain restaurants in Terre Haute, but there are also the local places like Rick’s that are just as good if not better. I think it would be interesting to see where these local places are. We have our fair share of local restaurants in Brazil, and they are the best places to go because of the atmosphere they create. I can’t wait to see where you take us!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I completely agree with you here! While, I have a love for some of the chain restaurants here, such as Cheddar’s and Panera, I think that there should also be more hype for not only local restaurants, but local shops too. There are some many off-the-wall shops and hidden gems that I’m sure if more people knew about, there would be much more hype about the city in general. seeing as this town is a college town, there are many people who’ve never explored what the Haute has to offer. Those of us who grew up here or close to here really have no excuse and I saw that knowing that I’m extremely guilty about not going out and exploring all there really is to see. My hope for this project is to spread awareness of the all the great things about our city to help convince the residents to help show a little pride about their humble home.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

