Hidden Gems

terre-haute

“Once we believe in ourselves, we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight, or any that reveals the human spirit.” – E.E. Cummings

My professional writing class this semester has really been pushing me out of my comfort zone. I have been doing things I never thought I would be doing and doing them, hopefully, decently well. I’ve never written a blog but here I am writing it now. I’ve never participated in an online community but I just did last night and I feel a little more confident about doing it again if I need to. I even used Twitter for the first time this semester and I didn’t die or burst into flames, there’s a plus. Every new challenge my instructor gives my class, and myself, I become frustrated and anxious, sometimes worried I won’t be able to do the work to his expectations. Each time, though, I am able to finish each project and feel pretty confident in the work that I have done.

Well starting after spring break we’ll be starting a new project and like the others, I’m not really sure how this is going to go for me. This project is making me even more nervous than the others. I have to help maintain a website about the area I live in. The website has to contain articles about the positive things about the Terre Haute. Well I know the area like the back of my hand, and it makes me wonder if we’ll run out of positive things to talk about the area. I know that seems rude because I am from here but it’s the truth.

Even though I am a little fearful of how this project will turn out, I am also excited to see what my fellow classmates will find in Terre Haute that I didn’t see. Since I am from around here, I tend to only see that bad things that are surrounding me. So maybe they’ll see things that I know are there but are being overshadowed.

Photo Credit: YouTube

5 thoughts on “Hidden Gems

  1. I am right there with you! I have a lot of concern with this project as well. While Terre Haute does have some amazing things in it, it is a regular city. It can become boring to those who have been there forever. I think this project is a great time for us all to go out and find something new to experience!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel the same way about finding interesting and fun things to talk about. I’m from Brazil, and Terre Haute is the place that my friends and I would turn to for something fun to do. Most of the time, we would go out to eat and watch a moive at Showplace 12, but that was it. I’m nervous about not finding something new, but going off of what nycfitton said it’s a chance for all of us to go explore Terre Haute and search for these hidden gems that this city has to offer!

    Like

  3. I’m so glad we are taking this course for our majors and minors. I feel like Bill is really preparing us for after college. I am too nervous about this project because the only thing I always thought you can do in Terre Haute is go out to eat and the movies. Maybe this will change our perspectives of Terre Haute.

    Like

  4. I fully understand where you’re coming from here. I’m not as familiar with the area as I would like to be and that’s frightening when it comes to the prospect of keeping a website running about Terre Haute. This project is intimidating, but I also see it as an opportunity to find as many hidden gems as we can by the end of the semester; not only for ourselves, but for the community as well. I think it’l be a unique and beautiful experience. Remember, we’ll be doing this together, as a community. That’s an encouraging thought!

    Like

  5. Congrats on not bursting into flames upon using Twitter! I do share some of your concerns about our site- it’s no secret that I don’t really like Terre Haute, so it’s going to be a challenge for me to find and write positive things about the city. But I’m noticing that there are activities and opportunities here that I’d never noticed before, so maybe we’ll all find something awesome to include in our site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

